an elephant

Elefant Rüssel

a discription of elephants

Elephants are large mammals of the family Elephantidae and the order Proboscidea. Three species are currently recognised: the African bush elephant (Loxodonta africana), the African forest elephant (L. cyclotis), and the Asian elephant (Elephas maximus). Elephants are scattered throughout sub-Saharan Africa, South Asia, and Southeast Asia. Elephantidae is the only surviving family of the order Proboscidea; other, now extinct, members of the order include deinotheres, gomphotheres, mammoths, and mastodons.

find out more here!

Types of elephants

main types

  1. african elephant
  2. asian elephant


differences between the main types

species height weight
asian elephant 2.75m 2.7t
african elephant 3.7m 5.5t